Who’s Who



Chorlton is split between Withington Constituency (MP Jeff Smith), and Gorton Constituency (MP Afzal Khan).


The former Greater Manchester metropolitan county, is now known as Greater Manchester City Region.  there is a directly elected Mayor, currently Andy Burnham who presides over a Greater Manchester Combined Authority with responsibility for Policing, Fire and Rescue, and a number of strategic functions concerning planning, health and care.

Local and Municipal

Chorlton is part of the City of Manchester and the neighbourhood is made up of two wards: Chorlton, and Chorlton Park, each having three councillors, all of whom are currently from the Labour Party.  Chorlton borders on the metropolitan borough of Trafford – its Stretford ward.

Local Councillors serve for four years and must then be re-elected in the local elections which are usually held on the first Thursday in May. One councillor comes up for election in each of the three years with an election.  You can find more information about local elections here.

There is no parish council tier in this part of the city and no Neighbourhood Plan.  However, a coalition of local groups (including Chorlton Voice as part of Chorlton Alliance) has prepared a draft Chorlton Vision.